Google+ Followers

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Today in Wrestling History - March 6th

By Mike Johnson on 2014-03-06 07:00:00

On this day in history in ....

1939 - Jesse James defeats Danny McShain by disqualification in the third of three falls in Hollywood, California to become recognized as World Light Heavyweight Champion by the California State Athletic Commission, however the National Wrestling Association retained its recognition of McShain. This ended McShain's second reign in California.

1945 - Pierre Labelle defeats Frankie Talaber to win the Midwest Wrestling Association World Junior Heavyweight Title in Dayton, Ohio, ending Talaber's fourth reign.

1951 - Al Mills defeats Sky-Hi Lee in Edmonton, Alberta for the Calgary NWA Canadian Heavyweight Title, beginning his second reign.

1952 - Sonny Myers defeats Enrique Torres to win the NWA Heart of America Heavyweight Title in Kansas City, Kansas, beginning his second reign.

1953 - Bull Curry defeats Danny McShain to become the first NWA Texas Brass Knuckles Champion in Houston, Texas.

1959 - Angelo Savoldi defeats Ivan the Terrible for the NWA World Junior Heavyweight Title in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, beginning his third reign.

1961 - Guy and Joe Brunetti defeat The Outlaw (Dory Funk, Sr.) and Pancho Pico to win the Vancouver NWA Pacific Coast Tag Team Title in Vancouver, British Columbia.

1962 - Taro Sakuro and Yoshinosato are named the first Mid-America NWA United States Tag Team Champions.

1962 - Art and Stan Neilson defeat Johnny Barend and Magnificent Maurice for the American Wrestling Alliance Tag Team Title, beginning the Neilson's second reign.

1970 - Fred Blassie wins his third NWA Americas Heavyweight Title in Los Angeles, California, defeating Rocky Johnson.

1970 - Bobby and Jerry Christy defeat Bill Dromo and Gil Hayes to win the Stampede International Tag Team Title in Calgary, Alberta, beginning their third reign.

1971 - Jimmy Golden and Dennis Hall defeats Bobby Hart and Lorenzo Parente for the Mid-America NWA World Tag Team Title in Chattanooga, Tennessee, ending Hart and Parente's second reign.

1971 - Irma Asebedo and Masked Killer defeat Miyoko Hoshino and Jumbo Miyamoto to win the American Girls' Wrestling Association International Tag Team Title in Tokyo, Japan, ending Hoshino and Miyamoto's second reign.

1973 - Kintaro Ohki and Umanosuke Ueda defeat Killer Karl Krupp and Johnny Valentine for the NWA International Tag Team Title in Nagoya, Japan.

1974 - Santino Marella (real name Anthony Carelli) is born in Mississauga, Ontario.

1974 - Karl and Kurt Von Brauner defeat Rocky Johnson and Pat Patterson to win the San Francisco NWA World Tag Team Title in Sacramento, California, ending Johnson and Patterson's third reign.

1974 - Jumbo Miyamoto defeats Jane O'Brien to win the WWWA World Singles Title in Maehashi, Japan, to begin her second reign. The title was vacated days before when Bambi Ball was injured.

1974 - Eddie Sullivan defeats John Quinn for the Superstar Championship Wrestling Western States Heavyweight Title in Yakima, Washington.

1975 - Chris Colt defeats Bob Kelly for the NWA Mississippi Heavyweight Title in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, ending Kelly's 13th reign.

1976 - Mr. Kennedy (real name Ken Anderson) is born in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

1979 - The Valiant Brothers (Jerry and Johnny) defeat Tony Garea and Larry Zbyszko to win the WWWF World Tag Team Title at a Championship Wrestling taping in Allentown, Pennsylvania. The match aired on March 24.

1986 - The Long Riders (Bill and Scott Irwin) defeat Alofa (Rikishi) and Dan Kroffat for the International Wrestling International Tag Team Title in Sudbury, Ontario. The title had been vacated in January when then-champions Jacques and Raymond Rougeau left for the WWF.

1987 - Mike Miller and Rip Oliver defeat Coco Samoa and Ricky Santana for the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title in Portland, Oregon.

1988 - Kerry Von Erich defeats Al Perez to win the World Class Heavyweight Title in Dallas, Texas.

1990 - Terry Gordy and Steve Williams win their first of five AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles from Stan Hansen and Genichiro Tenryu in Tokyo, Japan, ending their third reign.

1991 - Hiroshi Hase and Kensuke Sasaki win their second IWGP World Tag Team Title in Nagasaki, Japan, by defeating Hiro Saito and Super Strong Machine.

1993 - Three Mid-Eastern Wrestling Federation titles are decided in Gaithersburg, Maryland. Bob Starr defeats C.C. Danger to become the first MEWF Mid-Atlantic Champion, The Lightning Kid (Sean Waltman) defeats Jimmy Jannetty for the MEWF Light Heavyweight Title, and Ricki Lane and Quinn Nash defeat Ricky Blues and Nick Tarentino to win the MEWF Tag Team Title.

1993 - Chi Chi Cruz defeats Gene Swan for the West Four Wrestling Alliance Canadian Heavyweight Title in Winnipeg, Manitoba, beginning his second reign.

1994 - At a television taping at the ECW Arena in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, there were three title changes. The Public Enemy (Johnny Grunge and Rocco Rock) defeated Kevin Sullivan and The Tazmaniac to win the ECW Tag Team Title, ending Sullivan and Tazmaniac's second reign. This would be the first of four reigns for The Public Enemy. The Tazmaniac defeated Sabu for the ECW Television Title, but lost it later in the event to J.T. Smith.

1994 - Danny Collins defeats Mal Sanders for the European Middleweight Title in Hove, England, ending Sanders' eighth reign.

1994 - Shu el Guerrero defeats Gran Hamada to win the UWF Super Middleweight Title in Hiratsuka, Japan, beginning his second reign.

1995 - The SMW Television Title changes hands twice at a television taping in Council, Virginia. Boo Bradley (Balls Mahoney) defeats Killer Kyle for the vacant title, then lost it to Kyle later.

1996 - WCW taped the March 9 episode of WCW Saturday Night in Macon, Georgia, with the following results:
- In a dark match, Chris Kanyon defeated Kid Flash.
- Lex Luger defeated WCW World Television Champion Johnny B. Badd (with Kimberly) to win the title after Diamond Dallas Page interfered. This began Luger's second reign and ended Badd's third and final reign. Badd would leave WCW and debut in the WWF a month later, and wrestle under his given name, Marc Mero. The win made Luger a double-champion as he was already one-half of the WCW World Tag Team Champions with Sting.
- The Road Warriors (Animal and Hawk) defeated The Faces of Fear (The Barbarian and Meng).
- Alex Wright defeated Bobby Walker.
- The Blue Bloods (Earl Robert Eaton and Squire David Taylor (with Lord Steven Regal)) defeated Public Enemy (Johnny Grunge and Rocco Rock) by disqualification.
- Eddie Guerrero defeated Chris Benoit.
- Pat Tanaka defeated Disco Inferno.
- V.K. Wallstreet defeated Joey Maggs.
- Arn Anderson, WCW World Heavyweight Champion Ric Flair and Kevin Sullivan defeated The American Males (Mark Bagwell and Scott Riggs) and Sgt. Craig Pittman.

1997 - Kid Dynamo (Shannon Moore) defeats Will O' the Wisp (Jeff Hardy) to win the National Championship Wrestling Light Heavyweight Title in Asheville, North Carolina. NCW merged with NWA Georgia in 1998 to create NWA Wildside.

1997 - The American Kickboxer defeats Tarek the Great for the IWA Mid-South Lightweight Title in Louisville, Kentucky. This ended Tarek's fifth reign and began the Kickboxer's fifth.

1998 - Steve Corino wins his second Mid-Eastern Wrestling Federation Light Heavyweight Title in Baltimore, Maryland, defeating Flexx Wheeler for the vacant title.

1999 - Vader defeats Akira Taue to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title in Tokyo, Japan. The title had been vacated by Toshiaki Kawada on January 29 after he suffered a broken arm during his January 22 title win over Mitsuharu Misawa.

1999 - Inferno Kid defeats Kevin Knight for the NWA New Jersey Junior Heavyweight Title in Ocean County, New Jersey.

2000 - The Monday Night War continued, and WWF RAW is WAR won the night over WCW Monday Nitro, 6.4 to 2.7 in the ratings.

No comments:

Post a Comment