Google+ Followers

Friday, March 14, 2014

Today in Wrestling History - March 14th

Title Changes for March 14 

1887 – Evan “Strangler” Lewis defeats Joe Acton to win the World Catch-as-Catch-Can Heavyweight Championship 

1918 – Young Hackenschmidt (Neil Olsen) defeats Louis Nelson to win the World Welterweight Championship 

1944 – Babe Sharkey defeated Ed “Strangler” Lewis to win the World Heavyweight Championship (Maryland version)

1952 – Hombre Montana & Leo Nomellini defeat Ben & Mike Sharpe to win the NWA World (San Francisco) Tag Team Championship

1968 – Larry 'The Axe" Hennig defeats Kurt Von Brauner to win the NWA Brass Knuckles (Amarillo) Heavyweight Championship

1978 – Dino Bravo & Dominic DeNucci defeat Mr. Fuji & Professor Toru Tanaka to win the WWWF World Tag Team Championship

1980 – Jose Lothario & Tiger Conway, Jr. defeat Mr. Hito & Mr. Sakurada to win the NWA American Tag Team Championship

1980 - Bruiser Brody defeats Maniac Mark Lewin to win the NWA Brass Knuckles (Texas) Heavyweight Championship

1980 – Junkyard Dog defeats "Big Cat" Ernie Ladd to win the MSW Louisiana Heavyweight Championship

1984 – Mike Rotundo & Barry Windham defeat Black Bart & "Outlaw" Ron Bass to win the NWA United States (Florida) Tag Team Championship

1987 – 'Dirty' Dick Murdoch & 'The Russian Bear' Ivan Koloff defeat "Hands of Stone" Ron Garvin & Barry Windham to win the NWA United States (Mid-Atlantic) Tag Team Championship

1999 – Naoya Ogawa defeats Dan 'the Beast' Severn to win the NWA World Heavyweight Championship, ending Severn's 4+ year reign as champion

2003 – A.J. Styles defeats Super Hentai to win the IWC (Pennsylvania) Super Indy Championship

2009 – Yoshihiro Takayama defeats The Great Muta to win the AJPW Triple Crown Heavyweight Championship

2010 – "Scrap Iron" Adam Pearce defeats Blue Demon, Jr. & Phil Shatter in a 3-Way Elimination Match to win the NWA World Heavyweight Championship for the 3rd time

2011 – Sheamus defeats Daniel Bryan to win the WWE United States Championship

2011 – Abyss vacates the TNA World Television Championship due to injury

2011 - Gunner defeats Rob Terry & Murphy in a 3-Way Dance to win the vacant TNA World Television Championship

No comments:

Post a Comment