Google+ Followers

Sunday, March 16, 2014

Today in Wrestling History (March 16th)

Title Changes for March 16 

1948 – Billy Goelz defeats Marshall Esteppe to win the NWA World Junior Heavyweight Championship 

1960 – Joe McCarthy defeats Mario Galento to win the NWA Gulf Coast Heavyweight Championship 

1970 – Killer Karl Kox & The Great Malenko defeat Chief Wahoo McDaniel & Antonio Pugliese to win the NWA Texas Tag Team Championship

1973 – Gene Kiniski defeats Terry Funk to win the NWA Missouri Heavyweight Championship

1977 – Bruiser Bob Sweetan & Tony Rocco defeat Skandar Akbar & Choi Sun to win the NWA United States (Tri-State) Tag Team Championship

1985 – 'The American Dream' Dusty Rhodes defeats Tully Blanchard to win the NWA Television Championship. During this reign, the title would be renamed the NWA World Television Championship.

1986 – The Sheepherders defeat Ted DiBiase & "Dr. Death" Steve Williams to win the UWF World Tag Team Championship

1986 - "Mad Dog" Buzz Sawyer is awarded the newly-created UWF World Television Championship by the final Mid-South Television Champion, 'Dirty' Dick Slater

1986 – Jim Duggan defeats "Mad Dog" Buzz Sawyer (subbing for Dick Slater) to win the MSW North American Heavyweight Championship

1989 – Hiroshi Hase defeats Shiro Koshinaka to win the NJPW IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship

1992 – Kamala defeats Koko B Ware to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Championship

1992 - Boogie Woogie Man Jimmy Valiant defeats Dr. Death (not Steve Williams) to win the USWA Southern Heavyweight Championship

1994 – Hiroshi Hase defeats Ravishing Rick Rude to win the WCW International World Heavyweight Championship

1996 – D’Lo Brown defeats Bobby Blaze to win the HWA (Cincinnati) Heavyweight Championship

1998 – Triple H defeats Owen Hart to win the WWF European Championship

2008 – Cibernetico defeats El Mesias to win the AAA World Heavyweight Championship

No comments:

Post a Comment